2017 Crouse Award Winners

Each year at the annual Writing Showcase, the Professional Writing Program announces the winners of the Crouse Awards in Professional Writing, scholarships offered to undergraduate students in the Professional Writing major and graduate students with secondary concentrations in Professional Writing. The winners of the 2017 Crouse Awards can be found below, along with the names of the alumni judges for the undergraduate awards and the faculty judges for the graduate awards:

Awards for Undergraduate Students
Crouse Writing & Publishing: Blair Newton and Caitlynn Lawson

Crouse Technical Writing: Megan Smith

Study Abroad: Megan Smith

Awards for Graduate Students
Crouse Emergent Scholar: Jeffrey Gerding

Crouse Promising Scholar: Allegra Smith

Internship in Academic Publishing: Devon Cook

Alumni Judges: Mary Adkins, Class of 2015 (Production Manager, Treefrog Marketing); Steven Thorton, Class of 2014 (Technical Writer, Dematic Corporation, Grand
Rapids, MI); Callie Leuck, Class of 2010 (Medical Writer, Avant Healthcare); Angie Klink, Class of 1981 (Author, Historian, Publisher, Marketer, Copywriter, Freelance)

Faculty Judges: Jenny Bay, Associate Professor; Richard Johnson-Sheehan, Professor; Bradley Dilger, Associate Professor and Director of Introductory Composition; Michael J. Salvo, Associate Professor and Director of Professional Writing; Patricia Sullivan, Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in Rhetoric and Composition